What? Again?

Published October 1, 2015 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

So much in my world is making me snarly today.

After a GREAT interview for a job that I really would have liked to have because I would  be a) teaching and b) a part of the solution and c) making a connection with students in small groups, I apparently either didn’t get the job or  . . . .

I somehow managed to pull the iliotibial (IT) band(a  tough group of fibers that run along the outside of the thigh) so the transition between standing and sitting is incredibly painful.  I have no idea how I did this, so I don’t know how to get rid of it.   I also hve rehearsal soon, which will require me to stand, sit and move. (Although I could suggest to the director that I be wheeled around on a dolly like Hannibal Lector. He would probably go for it, but I would have to perform like that for the run of the show.)

Today is also the one year anniversary of my divorce.

So I am tense, jobless, in pain and kind of bummed out.  But I’m okay, because some nutjob with a gun didn’t storm in and  blow me away for no apparent reason. That’s right friends and neighbors, it happened AGAIN. A twenty year old opened fire at a school, a college  in Oregon this time and killed 20 people and wounded 14.

I don’t know where to start or where to begin except to say, peace be with all of you.

And now for a break

Intentionally Left Blank

prologue

LeeAnne Grey rested her chin on her hand as she watched Travis’s long hair blow in the breeze.  His beard scruff glinted a bit in the setting sun. He turned and caught her watching and his eyes crinkled in the corners as his smile worked it’s lazy way up.

It was that smile, she thought, that made this picnic table and dwindling crowds of people seem as romantic a setting as anything she had ever read in one of the library’s books. Travis was certainly more handsome than any man she could every dream up.  She glanced at her watch, not wanting to let go of this moment, but knowing that the whistle would blow and a guard would remind them their time was up.

Travis reached for her hand, lifted it to his lips and kissed it lightly.

His deep voice whispered, “I wonder if anyone will ever be as lucky as me.”

She smiled, a bit confused.

“I know that today is the beginning of a love bigger than the whole world.”

The whistle blew. Travis and LeeAnne stood as the guard approached.

“Can I have a minute to hug my best girl?”

“All right, Grey. But only because it’s your wedding day.”

Travis pulled LeeAnne close to him. She felt his strong arms wrap around her. He whispered in her ear

“It’s only the beginning, baby.”

The guard cleared his throat and Travis stepped back to make room so he could take LeeAnne back to her cell.

Leave a Reply

