What I am doing instead of panicking.

Published October 13, 2015 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

Right now I have at least a handful of things to worry about: I have a show opening in four days; I do know most of my lines, and I have time to review them, even though I have booked a workshop on Thursday and a class for Friday (opening night.)

The reason I’m not planning to lie still like broccoli round the clock is the other reason I’m trying not to panick.  I need money. I’m ok, right this minute. But I am eventually, like the end of November,going to be in dire need of reliable cash flow, not to mention for the foreseeable future.  Samantha, with her unerring abitlity to read my mind is now sitting inside my purse where my script and money are located.

I can’t tell my director I can’t be at rehearsal because my cat won’t let me. (Although if it weren’t production week, he would be ok with it.) I’m pretty sure the mortgage lender and the electric company (not the fun kind) won’t care that the cat is holding my money hostage.

The most frustrating thing about all of this is that there is not a single thing I can do about any of this right now.  I won’t know my weak spots production wise til after rehearsal. And  it will be different every night. Teachers only get paid once a month so I won’t be able to really do anything til the moment that I need to do it.

I think I am always poised to spring.  I think that it is my fate to be the one person whose job it is to think Zombies mean Zombies.

It’s a good thing I have medication

Leave a Reply

