That’s an awful lot of pressure for one person.

Published October 23, 2015 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I am still stubbornly dragging the kite that is my life trying to get it to fly. I have been back in the classroom a few times and I have to say the most challenging days have been in the Kindergarten classroom.  I have to confess, I’m a little nervous around small children. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy their honesty and genuine sense of wonder and the firm knowledge that not a single one of them is trying to plot some nefarious plan against me.  (Except, possibly Niece three, who I swear is one lab experiment away from turning into a super villain.)

No, the pressure is far greater on me to be aware of what I say and do because every single moment in the Kindergarten classroom is the most important of that student’s life.

The last time I subbed in one of the classes, one of the students couldn’t quite wrap his mind around  the Ms. in Ms. Rodriguez. He simply called me The Rodriguez. There is an awful lot of pressure in being The Rodriguez and if I have to take the job I want a tiara.

Yesterday I wore myself out again by spending the day in Kindergarten. The kids were great and mostly normal. (No supervillains or potential X Men). Since this is a parochial school, there was time set aside for a religion class. Apparently there had been some problems in the school with lying, nothing serious, not Wall Street or Congress lying, just some moderate fibbing, so to address the problem in a non-confrontational way, we all watched a Veggie Tale about a Fib from Outer Space.

I am unfamiliar with the Veggie Tales because Actor Boy was way past the age of watching that, (In fact, unless there is a drinking game associated with it, there is no plane of reality that Actor Boy and I would find ourselve accidentally watching Veggie Tales.

The story was interesting and involved a spear of asparagus accidently breaking his father’s favorite collecter plate.  When confronted he blamed the plate breaking on a sweet potato, (I think) Everytime he fibbed, this little alien blueberry thing would grow bigger and bigger. By the end of the story, the Fib was so huge it was going to take over the world and a super hero with plungers for ears had to save everyone.

I know.

That makes all of my electric sharks and time weasels (world’s worst thrift store) sound normal.

I truly enjoyed the video.

My favorite part of yesterday came when we were saying our closing prayers and one student tattled on another saying he wasn’t  “praying right”.

I replied that it would be up to God to sort that one out.

His reply, “But YOU’RE the teacher!”

And The Rodriguez.

I don’t know if I can handle the pressure.

Leave a Reply

