The only thing I knew how to do, was keep on keeping on

Published November 24, 2015 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

Bob Dylan was right.

I have of late, but wherfore I do know, lost all my mirth. (Sorry, Hamlet, I’m a bit more self-aware than you.)

The universe has been a bit grim these days.  I am slightly disturbed by the episode of American Horror Story: Hotel where the serial killers all came to dinner (really.) I wasn’t disturbed by the content. Rather, I was distrubed because not only did I know who each and everyone of them were, but I also knew their motive and MO. (that’s Modus Operandi for those of you not inclined to learn the vernacular.) Seriously, does an educator really need to know that? A little insight into the way my mind works, I actually looked into getting my third Master’s Degree in Criminology before it occurred to me that it might be a little more practical to get my Teaching Certificate.

Speaking of teaching,I am vastly enjoying the teaching experience at the Catholic school which is allowing to remain slightly more solvent and keeping most of the panic at bay. ( Michael Bay sometimes sponsors my level of panic;I had that dream about the electric  shark and the holgrams again.) I’m actually going to be ok, financially speaking, through next month and possibly half of January.

Right now just ok is fine.

I am most disturbed about the whole refugee nonsense and I am both appalled and non-plussed that not only is my home state is one of the the states that has voted to deny refugees access to sanctuary.  It amazes me that the GOP is so pro-traditional Christianity and has forgotten Matthew 25:40; the gist of which is “Whatsoever you do for the least of my brothers, that you do unto me.”

And in education news, my home state has also decided it is not going to fact check the new text books it just approved. Because that makes sense.  I guess the state is quite familiar with not letting the right hand know what the left hand is doing, except they didn’t fact check the whole  quote (quelle surpise!) which reveals that the quote is about helping the needy.

Klunk (that was me hopping off of my soap box.)

The students I am working with seem genuinely delighted to see me. I’m not sure why. I am much better at classroom management and I do make sure they get their work completed.  I have decided to go ahead and get my generalist certifcations. This does mean I will have to review Middle School Science and Math. (it burns, it burns!). I hope it helps open some doors.

I really do want to teach, even if I don’t have all of the facts.

But I will at least look them up

 

Leave a Reply

