pertinent and relevant, both at the same time

Published December 9, 2015 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I try to stay on top of news and current events and I do have bruise starting on my tongue where I have been biting it because of that idiot, Donald Trump, and general mania and immigration paranoia because I still want to be able to teach and I know that anything I say can and will more than likely be used against me in future job searches, so I won’t talk about that.

I have a digital subscription to The Week, so I do get regular access to bite size portions of national and international news.  Last night I read a snippet about The Personalized Nutrition Project headed up by biologists Eran Segal and Eran Elinav, (what are the chances they would both have the same name?).

What the Eran’s are investigating is personalized dieting plans because (gasp)people are different and what works for some people will not work for others.  This is not earth shattering news to those of us who have been dieting for forty years or so (or since someone made me aware that being a little heavy was a terrible thing to be, without the actual science to back it up.)

Now there is actual science to back up what common sense should have been telling us all along: Different people react in different ways to the same food. This is why someone who is pre-diabetic can eat handfuls of Captain Crunch and be perfectly fine and someone with he same diagnosis can eat a boiled egg and have an extreme blood sugar spike. And, yes, this is is why someone can each three Ultimate Cheeseburgers a day and remain their 6’2” 119 lb figure, while their well-meaning, kind hearted sibling struggles to stay at 146 lbs  by eating less than 1000 calories of high protein low carb food per day and is still considered too heavy for their 5’4” frame. (Not that there is any personal bitterness hidden in that statement.)

Seriously, this is important news. Their research can figure out what diet plans work for which individual.  Of course, this means we will have to start promoting individualism and agree that it is, indeed, ok to be different, because we are.

Why is it so hard to accept news like this? Is it because we want a quick fix or we are constantly confronted with images pushing forward the idea that we have to fit this mold and this model to be considered worthy? (This time of year is perfect for viewing what is being pushed to the public. In researching this blog I had to close out FIVE, count them, FIVE pop up ads. One was  for Levi’s fleece lined trucker coat, (I have never seen a fleece lined trucker, but ok.) ;One instyler curling tool. (I would do myself great personal injury with such a thing.) One for extending my line of credit; one for overstock.com; and one for a dating site.

Apparently the internet thinks I’m a hair obsessed, broke and lonely shopping trucker. Close but no cigar

So I guess that means we have to stop listening to idiots spewing hate speech generalities about different ethnic and religious groups. I ain’t going to name no names. But it has terrible hair and rhymes with rump.

Coincidence? You decide.

Leave a Reply

