My little dog legs are running as fast as they can

Published December 15, 2015 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

Have you ever seen dog friends out for a jaunt around their neighborhood? (If you haven’t, you have lived a sad, sad life.)  There’s usually a small dog of some kind frantically jogging to keep up with its longer legged pals. It’s trotting frantically, tongue lolling out of its mouth, its legs seeming to move twice as fast to keep up.

That’s kind of how I feel today. My brain is running frantically trying to keep up with the sensory input. I am trying to put together cogent sentences as thoughts occur to me, like you do, but other things like the sound of the pipes in the front bathroom shrieking, or the whisper of paper as the cat drags a butter wrapper out of the trash to lick noisily, or the sound of the neighbors kids frolicking in the balmy dusk of this December afternoon.  And then, of course, there’s the smug blooping sound of the xbox being kicked off of the internet which means everything else is going to be shutting down.

If I were reading this between the lines, possibly in my own defense at the commitment hearings, I would first make the case that my self-esteem has been eroded by circumstances beyond my control to the point at the age of 46, I still equate myself with the small dog in the pack (Hey, maybe someone would get me a cute plaid dress for Christmas and give me a daily massage before I embark, get it, on my very rough day of lounging around in my dog bed. ) 

My small dog analogy would lead to a persecution complex, because why would I chose to feel that I have to work twice as hard as everyone else? And then there’s my choice of words; in my house, things are either shrieking or whispering.  The sound of the frolicking kids reminds me that I, too, can be heard, so maybe I should stop screaming out my default phrase. Maybe they think I’m screaming, Ditch That! Bun of S’mores!(That doesn’t do much for the case for my sanity. )

The thoughts that are plaguing my trotting brain range from the truly troubling, like the the fact that Donald Trump still won’t shut up and it stopped being funny three rants ago, to the deeply disturbing, like the signs of climate change are in our sunscreen lathered faces as those of us in Texas enjoy a sunny afternoon and visitors to NYC can stroll around in shorts and tee shirts during this week before Christmas.  Then there is the fact that an entire school district in one of the largest cities in the United States had to close because of a large target bomb threat.

That’s an awful lot of dog to keep up with.

In my personal life there are many things changing, good and maybe better. Christmas is rapidly approaching and I’m sure there will be many interesting tales to tell.

I am also finally setting up an author page on Kindle, and I will be providing links and information. This author business is in preparation for the release of Circumstance (I know, I know, we’ve all heard this before) and the release of an all new tome of wit,wisdom and horror.

So much field, and such little legs.

Leave a Reply

