Conspiracy? Coincidence? Calamity?

Published January 15, 2016 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

As I have proclaimed, pontificated and pronounced, I have the short story that begins a series up for sale on Kindle Both Sides. Now, available for a mere ninety nine cents. It begins a story that is part speculative fiction, part YA and part perpetuating conspiracy theory because what am I, an archeologist?

The two protagonists of the series, Casey and Cassidy, live on different planes of existence.   Casey is mostly involved with the Now portions of the story and Cassidy is involved with the Then and the conspiracy portions.

The research for this series is actually kind of fun, because I’m a nerd that way, and even though it is speculative fiction, I can’t just make crap up, although there are many, many writers that do. (I ain’t going to name no names)

The current history bit I am examining is the Titanic. It may seem that particular subject is oversaturated (I couldn’t help it.) with speculation, it seems that particular disaster is one of the major watershed ( I can not be stopped.) moments in our cultural history.

In my research I have become aware that there are many conspiracy theories surrounding the sinking of the Titanic. Just by using that phrase, I have automatically implied that there was a human force behind the disaster.

One of the theories is that the great ship was sunk as an elaborate insurance scheme.

Another or part of the same theory is that the boat that sank was actually a sister ship the Olympic. 

Now the Olympic was in terrible shape, having undergone serious damage and was said that even if fully repaired would be listing to one side. The White Star Line could not  afford to lose the Olympic, especially since they were just finishing the Titanic, so they switched the ships. It was the Olympic that set sail not the Titanic.  The plan was that the captain of the Titanic would wreck the ship and the Californian would save everyone and the White Star Line’s insurance would help them out of the financial problems.  The theory goes on to say the actual Titanic didn’t sink but sailed several times successfully while its sister ship is on the floor of the Atlantic.

I don’t know if this thread will be the one I follow, but I thought it was interesting.  And just enough of a dick move to actually be possible.

I know, I know. It is an excellent use of my education and training to sum all of that up in slang phrase. But it is an accurate way to assess its.

I think we as human beings don’t want to acknowledge that other human beings can do such ridiculous and horrible things to each other, for any reason

I think that’s why we see conspiracy in the calamity.

Or it could just be the fault of the Time Weasels.

 

Leave a Reply

