Water Sheds what?

Published March 16, 2016 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I particularly enjoy teaching at a local Catholic School, not just because the kids are well behaved and are held to a level of academic rigor that is not often seen, well, anywhere, but because I do get the chance to experience the school day from a different perspective,

Each class starts with a prayer. The group I have been working with most often says a prayer to St. Michael the Arc Angel.

The last day I taught this group all of the classes  were 22 minutes long, and I did not have a lesson plan. Because I know what happens when you add a group of students on an irregular schedule with no specific plan to a generous scoop of impending Spring Break.  I decided I would introduce the students to some creative writing brainstorming.

I whipped through a quick definition of Watershed moments with examples from  world wide catastrophes and instructed them to think about their own Watershed moment and list five specific things about it.  I gave a few personal examples, like the fact that I’m still mad at Gonzalo Cervantes for something he said about me when I was in the Seventh Grade.  I also illustrated the lesson by speaking about my friend Lamar Wilson

Lamar Wilson and I attended college together, and I didn’t know him well. It was a small department at a small school, so we knew of each other and after we graduated I got to know his unique performance style.Over the last year Lamar has fallen on hard times.

I don’t mean he got a bummer of a performance review or got a flat tire on the freeway. I mean life knocked him down and then spit on him once he was there.  Lamar is definitely too nice of a guy for a fate like that to befall him.

Then Lamar asked his friends for help.

Within hours, several of his friends made contributions to give him a leg back up. This includes me.

Now I’m not much in a position to help many people out, but years ago, when I was in college and going through a dark and difficult time, Lamar said something that I really needed to hear. He said it at a party that I didn’t even attend. I’m fairly certain that a lot of people were helped out by Lamar in a similar way.

He paid me a kindness that he didn’t have to, so I paid him one right back.

My hopes are that he will get blessings a thousandfold back for those he distributed to the world

 

Leave a Reply

