Thanks, Audible; I think I can handle this topic on my own.

Published April 3, 2016 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I love to read but I don’t always have the kind of time I need to truly invest in a story, thus I listen to audiobooks.

I try to stay on top of the new publications and I am a member of Audible, Amazon’s audiobook division.

Today’s “Daily Deal” is

Neanderthal Man: In Search of Lost Genomes

While I do have a lot of intellectual curiosity, I don’t think that Svante Pääbo can give me any additional insight on un-evolved men that I haven’t picked up on my current reluctant safari through the dating world.

Now, I’m not going to start on a diatribe about men in general but I do have many, many days where I stop and look up at the sky and shout, “Really?!”

I do seem to specialize in relationships where you get jerked around.

In that vein, (or in vain, depending on your perspective.) I spent some constructive time today working with two friends filming.

This particular morsel of genius was a by-product of several conversations between Filmmaker and Batman.  Batman and I had a conversation a week ago that sounded a lot like the Improvisation game “Yes, and… ”

Every time one of us started a litany of the woe that is/was our romantic relationships, the other one would counter point with an equally depressing and bizarre story.

For two people who haven’t been in the same area code in two decades we had remarkably similar experiences.

So that bit of information was processed by Filmmaker and turned into today’s project.

The call time for today’s adventure was 8:00 AM.  I explained to Filmmaker that my 46  year old face won’t be awake until at least 10:00 AM.  He said I could wear a veil. Before I could mention that if the blemish next to my mouth (NOT A COLD SORE) got any bigger, I would need a Burka, Filmmaker had developed into a storyline in which I played Death.

So I spent this morning being driven around in a Buick  wearing a black veil and more make-up than Ru Paul.

Yes, yes I did get up at Oh-My-God-Why? on a Sunday and made up my face, complete with three different colors of eye-shadow, highlighting and lipstick that was guaranteed not to leave marks on your boyfriend, coffee mug or breathalyzer.

How can you resist ad copy like that.

I know that was wearing a veil, but although Death herself may not be proud, I certainly am.

I had a wonderful time.

Thanks Batman and Filmmaker!

One comment on “Thanks, Audible; I think I can handle this topic on my own.

  • Leave a Reply

