two posts, two posts in one

Published April 14, 2016 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I try to contain my madness. I really do.

Today I am failing miserably. I have a bazillion things to do before I go tutor and my head is already pounding.  (I guess the gnome in a snow suit is back) I’m pretty sure it’s stress or allergies or I’m allergic to stress. I’m fairly certain that it’s not serious.  (I can just hear The Mom asking what combination of my degrees qualifies me to make a diagnosis.)

I just returned from hunting and gathering the supplies to build some of my props.  That in and of itself is always an adventure, because I tend to need bizarre things (like the rooster I borrowed.) But I was able to get enough arty and crafty stuff to make a serious dent in the prop list.  So far, everything looked good, but then it was Walmart so that already threw a wrench at the monkey. I was in line behind a woman who had an almost completely empty cart except for two watermelon.  A small boy was resting comfortably atop the watermelons.  I’m not sure how many of those items she actually purchased but it was entertaining.  I finally got through the check and was cautiously optimistic  as I pulled slowly into traffic, taking care to quadruple check my blind spot because I have giant poster board in my car.  I had to slam on my breaks, narrowly avoiding the rear end of a low rider because an old woman eating a taco had tried to swing into my lane.

Process for a moment: Wrench, Monkey, left over Time Weasels from yesterday, (They said Cocktail Pigeons, which I guess is a harbinger of things to come.) Watermelon boy, taco lady and lowrider.

Now I have to sweep and tidy up. Not too bad, but if it rains I will have to move all of my supplies into another room because they skylights leak.

Because of course they do.

Next time I will pay more attention to the time weasels.

Leave a Reply

