Speechless. It may be the crabs.

Published June 17, 2016 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I haven’t been in a writey mood lately.  I have been teetering on the edge of crazy. (Yes,again. The polite thing is not to mention it.) It’s not a matter of the other shoe dropping. It’s a matter of the winds of change shifting.

Recent events in the world (The non-sentence of the Stanford Rapist, the mass shooting in Orlando, the fact that the two top contenders for the leader of the free-world are in a Twitter war.) have inspired my silence.

My personal life is rapidly improving. After almost two years of part-time employment an a lot of subbing and side-gigging and some pride swallowing,  I have been offered and have accepted a full time teaching job for the school year 2016-2017.

This job is the equivalent of finding a pair of jeans that not only fits well and are comfortable but also make your butt look good.  This teaching job will allow me to support myself and make a valuable contribution to students’ lives. And its ok that I insist on talking to students like they are people.

I’m very excited.

Batman and Batcat are transitioning into the Casa Magnetico (This is what I am calling my house, because it’s too discouraging to call it the Crap Shack. Casa Magenetico was an attraction at Six Flags over Texas. The house had some  weird rooms where balls ran up hill and water rolled back up a drain. My house has the advantage of being the great Roach Husk Burial Ground) Samantha is having to learn to share, and I get to have some kindness and unconditional love in the house.  (Batman is pretty cool, too!)

I am still tutoring the same balky, sweet little boy. We have reached a point where we can communicate and actually work together.  I still think he’s one lab accident away from being a super villain, and he still looks at me like I have completely lost my mind, but we get along.

We are both fans of  unsolved mysteries of history.  He wasn’t as thrilled as I when I pointed out that Amelia Earhart was probably eaten by Coconut Crabs. (I wasn’t thrilled,exactly, but was glad that this mystery is solved.)

This child and I are working on summarizing passages and one of the sample pages was about the lost colony at Roanoke. (This is also one of those mysteries that is also more or less solved, depending on your point of view.) One of introductory paragraphs mentioned that one these early colonists was killed while looking for crabs on the beach.

So maybe crabs are responsible for the many mysteries throughout the world.

Giant Crabs of the Bermuda Triangle.

Giant Crabs stole Atlantis.

If it turns out to be true, you heard it here first.

 

Leave a Reply

