Wasn’t yesterday also the first day . . ..

Published July 28, 2016 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I meant to write and post this yesterday, but I got sidetracked by my own sloth. (I’m picturing a giant sloth actually blocking the path between me and the computer. Except the sloth doesn’t need to work very hard; there are many, many obstacles of my own making between me and productivity.

So back to the adventures of Batman and Writer Chick in the Four Corners.

The second day in the Durango area we went into Farmington. For those of you who are new to my brand of tirade, I lived in Farmington for four years. I wanted to go back to show someone else (Batman) that my descriptions of the place were not overly inflated. (Apparently I have a tendency to embellish.) Since Actor Boy still lives in Farmington, it was not much of a stretch to meet him there for lunch. There was also a car show in downtown Farmington, so this was a way to show Batman the local color and do some people watching.

We started at the Library. The Farmington Library is an exceptional building. It is a regional library and serves the city of Farmington as well as a good percentage of the Navajo Nation. The facility is impressive. It is even more impressive when you compare it to the rest of the city.

While we wended our way through Farmington and I told tales of how I came to the area and the various and sundry things that I did and/or were done to me, it occurred to me that I don’t have many truly terrific memories of Farmington.

In fact I have just one outstanding memory that brings a smile to my face.

Merritt Glover, a gifted actress of the stage an screen,and I were rehearsing a production of Parallel Lives. (Why yes, this is the show that actually caused my head to melt.) I do not think of myself as an actor and I was delighted to have this opportunity to work with Merritt. I have seen this show performed before by two actresses who were similar types, meaning they could be in direct competition for the same roles. Merritt is fifteen years younger and five inches taller than I. She also is fair skinned with angular features and I am sort of rounded and bunny-like. There is no way we would ever be in direct competition for anything,anywhere.  This allowed us to just play and have fun and not nudge each other out of the spotlight.

So in spite of the iffy direction by The Absence of All That is Good and Holy, we managed to have some very good moments.  One of my favorite scenes is one called Hank and Karen Sue. I played a very drunk cowboy and she played an overworked, overwrought single mom who is very tired of everything, especially Hank.

During one of our last rehearsals, we were both giddy with excitement and the scene moved along like the ball in a pinball machine.  At one point I delivered a line and had an expression that made Merritt break character and just start laughing hysterically.

That one moment true happy with Merritt is the best memory I have of Farmington.

 

Leave a Reply

