Be careful what you wish for . . ..

Published September 4, 2016 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I have learned a lot about wishes and dreams lo these many years. I have had many dreams and goals that were ranged from the odd to the downright strange (I rank my goal to be a back-up singer for Bob Dylan as probably odd, even thought it did motivate me to trudge the the grim, final days of undergrad. I was depressed and panicky, mostly because I was finally over the unrequited love of my college years, but also because my family was crumbling around me and I wasn’t quite sure of my career path.) Bob Dylan was the only guide for my slightly tipsy journey.

The downright strange dreams include actual dreams that float in my subconscious, offering glimpses into a psyche clearly obsessed with evil robot lizards and a deus ex machina in the form of aliens who deeply craved the secret of a light crustless quiche. (I have no idea what that means, besides the fact that my brain can not be allowed free reign for very long.)

Thirteen years ago, on my 34th birthday, I wished for a simpler, slower-paced life.  Less than a month later I had my brain hemorrhage which deftly lifted me out of my life and dropped me into a seven month recovery.

Be careful what you wish for indeed.

As I alluded in a previous blog, I have everything I wished for on my forty-sixth birthday. I wanted to have a teaching position that I truly love in a place where I really could make a difference and I wanted someone in my life who makes me smile and feel special.

I have a teaching position at a truly amazing school. I teach English and Science to two sections of sixth graders. I teach a total of 22 students a day. (Thirty-seven if you count the 15 students in my theatre class.)  I have become very attached to my students. I love each and every one of them and all of their quirks and abilities. From the one whose  thought processes require most of his inner thoughts to become outer thoughts in a constant stream of chatter to the one boy who has been pushed aside by public education for so long that at the age of 11  he can barely read at a first grade level.   And I am exhausted every day, and most of the time the challenge and frustration keeps me on my toes to find a balance.  Even the most difficult days are not that bad because the battles I fight are for a reason and not just Bull s%%$$ for BullS###’s sake.

There is magic in every day at KLA

As for the man in my life, I truly have a hero. Batman says I rescued him, but he rescues me right back on a daily basis. He is truly concerned about my happiness and well-being and he brought my smile and laughter back from wherever it has been hiding for the past three years.  He has been on tour for the last two weeks and I miss him. But it is a pleasant feeling because I know he will come back (All of his stuff and his cat are in my house.) and it is highly unlikely that he has betrayed my trust by returning with a pregnant girlfriend.

I definitely got what I asked for and it’s going so well, I kind of hope the other shoe never falls.

I have to go to sleep now, the evil robot lizards await.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

