Are we not entertained?

Published April 10, 2017 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

If you see what appears to be a fully function human staggering around drooling and clutching an empty coffee cup murmuring, “Four hour test. . .. So tired.” It’s because it’s STAAR time in Texas.

Yes, folks, it’s that time that is feared more than tornadoes. It’s proof that evil walks among us. It’s the Standardized Test that is supposed to measure students abilities in the areas of Math, Reading and Writing. I say “supposed to” because all it’s just an endurance test for both teachers and students.

Each student is given four hours to take each test. The teachers/proctors must actively monitor each session. (Active monitoring means no sitting, reading excessive movement and responding with scripted answers only. )  Students are allowed restroom breaks but only after signing in and out.

Oh, and if you are a high school student, your graduation depends on it.  Schools can lose funding and/or teachers over this diabolical test.

It’s so bad that  poet can’t answer questions   on her own poem.

Then, there is the grim specter that is Bill 610, but I’m on a different rant right now.

The test (and eighth grade girls) are proof of demonic forces at work.

The test doesn’t address what is actually taught in the classroom and it certainly doesn’t test the way American   students have begun to think of education.  Education has been a right for so long and society overall has devalued education to the point that students have become entitled because they don’t really care.

Education is as taken for granted as clean water, and don’t even get me started on pencils.  It has taken me four days to get back to this article because I have been trying to find time to sit down because of the whole education thing.

I listen to podcasts on my way to work in the morning and I got good and cranked up about inequities and opportunities based on location and familial wealth.  (Look at my big vocabulary! Look! Look! )  and then I came to school.

Most of the teachers in my school have Master’s Degrees. (I’m the only one who has two!) We are all enthusiastic about education and we all genuinely care about the students.  It is rapidly turning into a pearls before swine affair. (And not the hilarious comic)

I started working on this a week ago and haven’t been able to finish due to many circumstances beyond my control.

Many years ago I was the producer for a community theatre. We had one whole season where every single show had an understudy go on for a cast member. Quite often, it was the director.

We would preface these performances with a speech saying, ” Due to circumstances beyond our control, we have to shove some poor schmoe on to the stage with a script for your amusement and pleasure.”

The circumstances are rapidly moving beyond the control. Suffice it to say that too many of my students think they are here to be entertained. As a trained professional, I get paid to perform.

I think I may have shared too much

One comment on “Are we not entertained?

  • Leave a Reply

