Hey, Baby, it’s the Fourth of July

Published July 4, 2017 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

Great song by an great band.  It’s on my mind today, even though it has little to do with my mood and overall demeanor today.  There’s a lot going on in my head, on all levels. (yes, my head has levels.)  I get a daily update from the fine publication, The Week. It is a list of the ten things I need to know today (Not me, WriterChick, but me as part of the public that has access to the still free press. )

At the top of the list is the statement that North Korea has successfully tested an intercontinental ballistic missile. Now BatBeard says that I shouldn’t put a lot of stock in what the press says.  I agree with that to an extent, but I have to say that the mere concept makes my sinus cavity pinch a little.

Now the sinus cavity pinch could actually be a clot of cat hair waiting to break free in  giant sneeze. I pulled a muscle in my lower back Sunday evening. It’s nothing major.  I have done this before.  I have a bazillion good intentions, including getting the hell back into the gym to start good habits before the next school year. I also need to clean my house. All of these things are not possible while my lower back seizes.

I spent yesterday lying very still. The cats were delighted. There was a hilarious acrobatic routine with my sweet old kitty Samantha.  She’s very lightweight these days and I kept trying to get her lie somewhere else while I went to the bathroom. I would pick her up and move her, but by the time I was able to leverage myself into a position where I could sling myself out of bed, she was back on my shoulder, chest or stomach. This went on for some time before I was actually able to get out.    BatCat Frances is bigger and is very aggressive in her need for affection, she pummeled me around for a while but eventually settled in.

So to celebrate my eventual win over the cats, I took myself down to the Starbucks to get a latte (double points today). I reveled in my ability to climb into the car and actually function in the sunlight. As I pulled into the drive-thru, I noticed a man sitting on a bucket in the parking lot. He was wearing a tinfoil hat upon which he had affixed two huge wings and he was playing the guitar.  This is notable because I have heard of the tinfoil hat community, but I had never actually seen a member. (And, judging by the headgear, he is clearly a leader or at least a messenger.)  This entertained and delighted me.

Because today, we are still free.  Although if things get any crazier, I’m going to make my own hat and see if i can join the band.

Do yourself a favor and give X a listen:

Fourth of July by X

Leave a Reply

