Eeew! Why would you want to?

Published July 8, 2017 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I’m wrapping up a near perfect day with a Cold Case binge.  The thing I love the most about this show is the flashbacks. I am always wowed by the deftness of the casting director; the actors for past and present pair up beautifully.  The thing that I’m not so fond of is the tangential stories about the personal lives of the detectives.

Yes, I know that no man is an island, blah blah blah and I am the first one to remind you that characters don’t just poof into being, but some of the side stories are kind of unnecessary.

The episode I’m watching right now, Late Returns, unravels in a moderately icky fashion SPOILER ALERT FOR ANYONE WHO PLANS TO REWATCH ALL SEVEN SEASON OF COLD CASE FROM THE VERY BEGINNING. I say moderately icky because the victim wasn’t killed by the sister who lusted after her brother (I know! EEWW)  The victim was actually killed by the brother who was having a psychotic episode because of the afore mentioned lust.  The most EEWW part is the side story with the long suffering Lilly Rush (Now SHE has a great character information. She grew up poor with an alcoholic mother, played by a very dehydrated looking Meredith Baxter. Poor Lilly has a n’er do well sister named Christina who shows up and throws monkey wrenches into everything.) Anyway.

In this episode one of the side stories links up Lilly with one of the D.A.’s.  She casually mentions to him that she saw him chatting up another of the new assistants.  (Ok, this is a major city and the D.A.’s have time to chat and date? I’m just a fourth grade teacher and I can hardly find the energy to pack a lunch for the next day.)  D.A. Charming says that if Lilly can make a commitment he will “cut the other girl loose.”  And Lilly says , “Ok.”

Really? Ok? What kind of guy uses another woman as bait? And Lill, why do you want to be with someone who treats women so casually? Also, they let this tool practice law?

I love this show.

I had a lovely birthday lunch with my mother.  (Yes, I know my birthday was over a week ago, but my birthday can extend well into the month of July.) It was a fancy lunch at a fancy restaurant and it was perfect.

But now I’m full of chocolate and meat and other delights, so I’m just going to recline and bloat while I yell dating advice at a fictional character on a show that was cancelled seven years ago.

Leave a Reply

